As an employee, you expect to be paid for all the time you work. When you work overtime, you expect to be paid accordingly. By law in California, nonexempt employees who are at least 18 years old and some workers who are 16 or 17 are required to be paid overtime if they work more than eight hours in a single workday or more than a total of 40 hours in a work week.
The amount of pay received for overtime in California varies from 1.5 to 2.0 times the hourly rate, depending on the circumstances. If you work more than eight hours but less than 12 hours a day, you get 1.5 times your hourly pay for all time worked over eight hours. If you work more than 12 hours in a single workday, you get paid 2.0 times the normal hourly pay.